List of Ministers, MPs, judges and other tycoons who defaults tax

The Ministry of Finance, Planning, and Economic Development (Mofped) has unveiled a list of people (including MPs and ministers), businesses, and government bodies who have not paid their taxes.

Over 800 individuals and businesses have defaulted Shs346 billion, according to a list provided to Parliament in response to questions about the charter of fiscal responsibility for the financial year 2021/2022-2025/26.

Government ministries, divisions, and agencies (MDAs) owe the Uganda Revenue Authority (URA) Shs209 billion, while individuals and private businesses owe Shs137 billion.

The following is a list of current and former members of Parliament, as well as retired judges, who have owed millions of Shillings in taxes:

Haruna Kasolo (Minister of State for Microfinance): Shs94 million
Shs57m Allioni Yoke Odria (Aringa South MP)
Cissy Namujju (Lwengo Woman Member of Parliament): Shs51m

Sarah Najjuma (Nakaseke Woman Member of Parliament): Shs7 million

Shs1.1 million for Twaha Kagabo (Bukoto South MP).

EALA MP James Kakooza: Shs0.95 m

Members of the 11th Parliament who have allegedly defaulted on their taxes

Former Members of Parliament are also among the defaulters:

Otto Odonga: Shs111 million
Shs15m Julie Mukoda Zabwe
Shs32m, Sam Engola
Shs20m, Fred Angella
Shs65m Hatwib Katoto
Shs2.8 million for Paul Amoru
Kenneth Lubogo‘s salary is Shs7 million.
Crispus Ayena: Shs8m Crispus Ayena: Shs8m Crispus Ayena:
Former Members of Parliament who have allegedly failed on their taxes

On the list of defaulters are two retired judges:

Shs4.4 million (retired judge Steven Kavuma)
Shs14m Ralph Ochan.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *